New directors appointed to Hamilton & Waikato Tourism board


Hamilton & Waikato Tourism (HWT) has appointed two new directors.

Annabel Cotton, who chairs the regional tourism organisation, has announced the appointment of Steve Gow and Richard Leggatt to the board of Hamilton & Waikato Tourism. 

Steve Gow has a background in economic development and marketing. He is Deloitte’s lead for the Waikato and Bay of Plenty regions, as well as being a member of the Deloitte National Economic Development team. He has held senior marketing roles in organisations both in New Zealand and the UK and has significant experience in the successful implementation of strategies, plans and programmes.

Richard Leggatt has significant tourism and governance experience, having recently retired as deputy chair at Tourism New Zealand and as a director of NZ Post. He is chairman of the NZ Cycle Trail, and a director of Panuku Development Auckland, Cycling NZ, Snowsports NZ and Winter Games NZ. Leggat has experience in strategic development, marketing, product development and events.

Cotton said she was delighted the board had attracted two highly talented directors and both of them will be valuable to the Hamilton & Waikato Tourism board.

“The incoming directors bring an excellent mix of skills, expertise and experience to the board as well as fresh perspectives to build on the foundations already there.”

Outgoing board member Don Scarlet retired as a director in December 2018.

“Don has served tirelessly as a director for the past six years and his strong connection with many local communities was invaluable to the board,” she said.

“The new directors are joining us at an exciting time as we have launched a refreshed Visitor Brand Strategy centred around ‘The Mighty Waikato’ and finalised a Regional Major Events Strategy that takes a regional approach on how the region can attract, secure, grow and deliver events to generate far greater economic, cultural and social benefits,” said Cotton.

Gow and Leggatt were officially appointed from January 1 and will attend their first board meeting in February. They will join incumbent directors Annabel Cotton, Karleen Turner-Puriri, Simon Douglas and Mark Morgan. 


About Author

Waikato Business News

Your source for local business news in Waikato