Westpac Waikato Business Awards finalists announced


Fifteen businesses have been named as finalists in the Westpac Waikato Business Awards, in an event held at Wintec’s The Atrium.

Waikato Chamber of Commerce chief operating officer Paula Sutton said during lockdown the organisers talked about whether to go ahead with the awards. “We all agreed to soldier on and keep going because we knew just how strong the Waikato region is – and gladly I can report that you did not disappoint.”

More than 40 businesses entered and chief judge Heather Connolly told the finalists it was a big achievement to get this far.

Aaron Rink, David Kraakman, Sandra Kraakman, Nick Murray and Mathew Fletcher (all Carlyon)

“Even though we’ve had a really interesting and definitely challenging year, and I think we’ve got some challenging times in front of us, it was wonderful to see the Waikato community come out and put their names forward.

“Those businesses that did not make a finalist should not be disappointed, as the calibre of entrants was very strong and many have entered in prior years. Take on board the feedback provided by the judges, enhance your business, and come back stronger next year.”

The Annual Awards Gala Dinner is scheduled to take place on Friday 13 November, and tickets are available via the Waikato Chamber website.

The 2020 finalists are:

  • Bear & Moo
  • Beca Waikato
  • Carlyon
  • Civtec
  • Creative Waikato
  • Good George
  • Hospice Waikato
  • Jake Campus Nutrition
  • MEA Mobile
  • NZ National Fieldays Society
  • Skycity Hamilton
  • The Instillery
  • Waikato Real Estate
  • Wintec Student Residence Trust
  • Yashili New Zealand Dairy Co

Amy Attwood (Baby on the Move) and Martin Thomas (Wintec Student Residence Trust)

Kevin Flynnie (Good George)

Craig Tamblyn (Hospice Waikato)

Michelle Pearson (Waikato Real Estate)

Wahnita Kanters (Civtec) and Selena Batt (Pinnacle Health)

Graham Hill, Renee Schicker and Peter O’Regan (Beca)

Des Ratima and Jeremy Mayall (Creative Waikato)

Brett Morris (Skycity), Rachel Adams (Soda Inc) and Michelle Baillie (Skycity)

Frank Sargent, Peter Nation and Janine Monk (NZ National Fieldays Society)

Hannah Porter (Bear & Moo)

Richard Jenkins (The Instillery)

Dieter Kritzinger (Yashili)


About Author

Waikato Business News

Your source for local business news in Waikato