Voting papers posted for council by-election


Voting papers for Hamilton City Council’s East Ward by-election were posted to voters across the eastern half of the city in late January. Most voters were expected to have received their voting papers by February 1. If voters do not receive their papers, they should contact the Electoral Officer on 0800 922 822. East Ward voters need to post in their vote by 5pm, Tuesday, February 13, or drop it in a ballot box at the Council Municipal Building, the Chartwell Library or the Hillcrest Library before voting closes at noon on Saturday February 17. It will be a First-Past-the-Post election, so voters will be ticking one box to vote for one councillor. Candidates’ names will be randomly ordered on the ballot papers.

The 15 candidates who have thrown their hats in the ring for the East Ward By-Election are:
• Possum Allen
• Meleane Burgess
• Robert Curtis – Independent
• Deborah Fisher
• Ryan Hamilton
• Horiana Henderson – Independent
• Peter Humphreys – Independent
• Garrick Laing – People Count
• Ross Macleod
• Mano Manoharan
• Sarkaw Mohammad – Independent
• Chris Rollitt – Independent
• Matthew Small – Independent
• Maxine Van Oosten – Independent
• Michael West.


About Author

Waikato Business News

Your source for local business news in Waikato